The Nelsonville Police Department would like to remind everyone that most fireworks are illegal to discharge in Ohio.
In the State of Ohio, you may buy consumer or 1.4G fireworks from a licensed wholesaler or manufacturer; however, you cannot discharge any consumer or 1.4G fireworks in the State of Ohio. You must transport all fireworks purchased in Ohio out of the state within 48 hours of the purchase. The only items that can be used in Ohio are designated “trick and novelty” which smoke, pop, and/or sparkle. In Ohio, use of 1.4G fireworks (fire crackers, bottle rockets, etc.) is illegal. (ORC 3743.65 (B)).
What happens if you are caught with restricted fireworks in Ohio?
- For the first offense, offenders are charged with a first degree misdemeanor, six months in jail and a fine of $1,000.
- For the second offense, offenders are charged with a 5th degree felony, one year jail term and could face additional fines.
Is it worth it?
The safest way to enjoy fireworks is to go to a professional display. Have a safe 4th of July!!!